According to Illinois law, driving without insurance violates section 625 ILCS 5/3-707, which requires every driver on the roadway to have minimum vehicle liability insurance cover. If you have received a traffic ticket for driving without insurance, you’ll be required to appear in court. The traffic defense attorneys at Ktenas Law have represented thousands of drivers charged with driving an uninsured motor vehicle, and we can help you beat your charges.
On this page
What Happens if You Get Caught Driving Without Insurance in Illinois?
Under Illinois law, every driver should carry an insurance ID card in the vehicle while driving. Criminal penalties for driving without insurance vary based on the circumstances. However, they’re enforced in two different ways, which include through a random questionnaire sampling process whereby the state sends forms to random drivers asking them to verify the name of their insurance company and policy number or through verification of proof of insurance during traffic stops or through a random.
The minimum fine for driving an uninsured vehicle is $500, and the maximum fine is $1,000. Further, if you’re caught driving a car with suspended license plates because of an insurance violation, you’re subject to an additional minimum fine of $1,000. Besides hefty fines, those convicted of driving without valid insurance can have their driver’s license and vehicle registration suspended for three months or more, depending on their driving record.
Penalties for first and second insurance violations include fines ranging from $501 to $1,000, and driver’s license suspension and vehicle registration suspension for a minimum of three months. To get back your driver’s license and registration, you must pay a reinstatement fee of $100 and have proof of insurance. Further, if you’re caught driving without insurance during the license suspension period, you’re subject to the loss of driving privileges for an additional six months.
Penalties for third and subsequent insurance violations include a fine of up to $1,000. Repeat offenders are subject to a four-month suspension of their license plates. Also, they must pay a $100 reinstatement fee and show proof of insurance. You can’t drive your vehicle while the license plates are suspended. Further, third offenders must file proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 certificate) for the last three years. Not doing so can result in additional driver’s license suspensions.
What is the Minimum Car Insurance Required in Illinois?
Under Illinois law, all registered motor vehicles, including cars, trucks, and motorcycles must carry liability insurance. In 2017, the state of Illinois requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $20,000 for property damage, and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident. Also, Illinois requires drivers to have uninsured motorist coverage of the same minimum amounts. Illinois has established minimum auto insurance coverage amounts to ensure that those who sustain personal injuries in a motor vehicle accident are adequately covered.
Can You Go To Jail For Driving Without Insurance in Illinois?
In Illinois, driving without valid insurance coverages is a petty offense. Thus, there is no jail time associated with driving an uninsured vehicle in Illinois.
Can You Drive Someone Else's Car Without Insurance?
So long as the vehicle you’re driving is insured, then you’ll be fine. That’s because auto insurance follows the car, not the driver. It’s a great idea to have some understanding of the insurance cover the vehicle you’re borrowing has, and to have proof of the insurance policy ready in case you’re involved in a car accident while you’re driving an uninsured motor vehicle.
Is Driving Without Insurance a Misdemeanor in Illinois?
Driving a vehicle with a valid insurance cover, which results in bodily harm to another person, is considered a Class A misdemeanor offense in Illinois. If this happens to you reach out to our criminal defense attorneys.
Can You Get Towed for Driving Without Insurance or Not Having Insurance?
Starting in 2017, police officers can tow and impound your vehicle for driving without insurance. Under the 2017 law, your vehicle can be towed only if:
You’re pulled over by police officers and aren’t carrying auto insurance, and
You have been convicted of driving an uninsured vehicle in the last 12 months.
Under the current law, your vehicle can only be towed if you’re pulled over, and it’s established that you’re driving the vehicle without valid insurance. Currently, your vehicle can’t be impounded or towed if it’s not in use. If your vehicle has been towed because you didn’t have insurance, or couldn’t provide proof of insurance cover, contact our experienced Chicago traffic defense lawyers for legal help.
Protect Your Driving Privileges! Contact Our Experienced Traffic Attorneys for Legal Advice!
Whether you’re a new or seasoned driver, you may forget to carry your proof of insurance. In the event you’re pulled over for a traffic stop and can’t provide the necessary documentation, this can result in hefty fines and even loss of driving privileges. Our experienced defense lawyers can help ensure you don’t face any unnecessary punishment, helping you to maintain a clean driving record.
The experienced traffic ticket attorneys at Ktenas Law have represented thousands of drivers driving without insurance throughout Illinois, and we can help you get your traffic fine reduced or even dismissed. We handle various traffic cases on a wide variety of traffic tickets, including speeding tickets, insurance violations, drunk driving violations, parking tickets, and red light tickets. To schedule a free initial consultation, with one of our skilled traffic ticket attorney, call our traffic ticket defense law firm today at (312) 756-8652, or chat with us online to learn how we can help.